Log in


Log in


Join Today

Shop for MSET Gear

Our History

MSET (formerly MICCA, which stood for "Maryland Instructional Computers Coordinators Association") is an organization for everyone interested in Technology and Education.

MSET, formerly known as MICCA, can trace its beginning to a series of informal meetings held by supervisory staff from several school systems in 1984. The coordinators met to share information and discuss their technology programs.

From these beginnings, the coordinators decided that an organization of all technology coordinators in the state should be formed to assist everyone with technology responsibilities. In the fall of 1986 a meeting was held at UMBC, and the association was officially started. During the year officers were elected, a constitution was adopted, and the first spring conference was held in conjunction with UMBC and MAEUC.

Since 1986, the organization's membership has grown from 40 to nearly 2,000. Instead of limiting membership to technology coordinators, the organization voted to allow anyone with an interest in educational technology to become a member. In addition, the organization has become one of the leading forces in helping to promote the use of computers in education in Maryland through a series of initiatives and our annual spring conference.

As the MSET (MICCA) constitution states:

The purpose of the Association shall be to promote the improvement of the teaching-learning process through effective computer education program development, to promote the integration of computer application into curricular areas, and to foster and promote excellence in compute utilization in the schools of Maryland. In June 2000, MICCA (now MSET) became an organizational affiliate of ISTE, the International Society for Technology in Education. Now MSET can contribute to and benefit from the international network associated with the leading organization for educational technology professionals.

In November 2009, MICCA changed its name to MSET (Maryland Society for Educational Technology) to better reflect its mission to advance excellence in learning and teaching through innovative and effective uses of technology.

For more information about MSET today, read the Strategic Plan..

MICCA Charter Members
Paul Boston, Michael R. Cady, Pat Cutlijs, John Davidson, William “Bill” Engelmeyer, Judith D. Finch, Harry Gemberling, Darlene Grantham, Leslie Hanks, Sharon Herring, Shelley Day Johnson, Pat Kelly, Bob Lathrum, George Matisick, Judy Mauriello, Pat Monteleone, Carol Muscuro, Michael Pitroff, Carol Rechner, Lesley Robinson, Gary Ross, Bill Rust, Beverly Sangston, Nancy Smoker, Ann Cummings Star**, Richard Wiesenhoff, and Ken Zyderhoff

MSET Past Presidents

Year President Organization
Effective July 1, 2023 Brandie Shatto, Ed.D. University of Maryland Global Campus
2021-2023 Brian Cook, Ed.D. Worcester County Public Schools
2019-2021 Katie Lingg Washington County Public Schools

Tracy Schoene

Harford Day School
2015-2016 Selena Ward Prince George's County Public Schools
2013-2015 Catherine Poling Washington County Public Schools
2012-2013 Davina Pruitt-Mentle
2011-2012 Stacy Phillips Carroll County Public Schools
2010-2011 Jim Corns St. Mary's County Public Schools
2009-2010 Tammy Zino-Seergae Baltimore County Public Schools
2008-2009 Julie Wray Howard County Public Schools
2007-2008 Diane Rymer Baltimore County Public Schools
2006-2007 Ryan Imbriale Baltimore County Public Schools
2005-2006 Marilyn Barber Prince George’s County Public Schools
2004-2005 Betsy Klein Independent Consultant
2003-2004 Mila Thomas Fuller International Society for Technology in Education
2002-2003 Chuck Trautwein Garrett County Public Schools
2001-2002 Merritt Imbriale McDonogh School
2000-2001 Steve Wilson Kent County Public Schools,
1999-2000 John Davidson* Washington County Public Schools
1999-2000 Leslie Hanks Washington County Public Schools
1998-1999 Bill Rust Baltimore County Public Schools
1997-1998 Fran Moroz Prince George’s County Public Schools
1996-1997 Thea Jones Baltimore County Public Schools
1995-1996 Pat Monteleone Baltimore County Public Schools
1994-1995 Darlene Grantham Montgomery County Public Schools
1993-1994 John Davidson Washington County Public Schools
1992-1993 Judy Mauriello Anne Arundel County Public Schools
1991-1992 Shelley Day Johnson Howard County Public Schools
1990-1991 Bill Rust Baltimore County Public Schools
1989-1990 Richard Weisenhoff Howard County Public Schools
1987-1989 Bev Sangston Montgomery County Public Schools
1987-1989 Harry Gemberling Prince George’s County Public Schools
1986-1987 Pat Kelly Frederick County Public Schools
1985-1986 Pat Kelly Frederick County Public Schools

Notes: The Past-President list denotes the districts that individuals represented when they were elected or started their term as President. Many of our Past-Presidents and Charter Members have been promoted to leadership positions in districts, organizations, corporations, and opened their own businesses.

*John Davidson~Unable to complete term due to a promotion. John is will be recognized as an honorary Past-President for contributions which led to his election.

Not a
member yet?

Join us and boost your career!

This is a content gadget. You can use content gadgets to display your custom content.


© 2024 Maryland Society for Educational Technology.

All rights reserved.


Google Voice: (443) 885-0829

Mailing Address:
4007 Pennyfields Lock Court

Point of Rocks, MD 21777

Translate this page in your preferred language:

How To Add Google Translate Button On Your Webpage ?
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software